all no download slots us online casinos online casino flash for mac best slot machines for money casinos with debit card deposits casino that allow us players for real money online slots real money us
Skip to the content of the web site.

News from Waterloo Engineering

Archive for April, 2010

Alumni win Governor General architecture awards

Wednesday, April 28th, 2010

Waterloo School of Architecture graduates Brigitte Shim and Howard Sutcliffe of Shim-Sutcliffe Architects of Toronto are winners of three 2010 Governor General’s Awards in Architecture. Presented bi-annually the awards represent the highest honour available in design in Canada. Shim-Sutcliffe Architects was the only firm to receive three awards this year. Archiecture alumni Martin Kohn and John Shnier of Kohn Shnier Architects were also recipients of an award. [CBC website]

ECE professor honoured with paper award

Monday, April 26th, 2010

Zhou Wang, a Waterloo electrical and computer engineering faculty member, recently received the IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award as the lead author of Image Quality Assessment: From Error Visibility to Structural Similarity published in IEEE Transactions on Image Processing. The paper has become one of the mostly widely cited papers in the field of image processing in recent years.

Engineering student wins aboriginal scholarship

Tuesday, April 20th, 2010

Melanie Snow, a third-year chemical engineering student, has been honoured with the Canadian Engineering Memorial Foundation’s 2010 AMEC Aboriginal Scholarship. The annual $5,000 scholarship is awarded to the applicant judged to be the most promising aboriginal female undergraduate engineering student in Canada. Snow, a member of the Wikwemikong band on Manitoulin Island, is described as a strong role model and ambassador for the engineering profession. [CEMF website]

Convocation honours to include past Waterloo VP

Tuesday, April 20th, 2010

Amit Chakma, the university’s vice-president, academic and provost for eight years, will be one of five recipients of honorary doctor of engineering degrees to be presented at Waterloo Engineering’s two spring convocation ceremonies on June 19. Chakma, who was also a Waterloo chemical engineering professor, is now president and vice-chancellor of the University of Western Ontario. The other recipients will include Tayeb Kamali, vice-chancellor of the Higher Colleges of Technology in the UAE; Indira Samarasekera, president of the University of Alberta; Vijay Singh, internationally known for his work in water resources and environmental systems engineering; and Jan Carr (MASc ’70, PhD ’72, Elect), founding CEO of the Ontario Power Authority. Robert MacPhie of Waterloo’s electrical and computer engineering will receive the distinguished professor emeritus title. [news release]

16 engineering professors to be promoted July 1

Wednesday, April 14th, 2010

Sixteen Waterloo Engineering faculty members will have the new title of professor or associate professor as of July 1, 2010. Promoted to the rank of professor will be Eric Croiset, Marios Ioannidis and Christine Moresoli of chemical engineering; Giovanni Cascante and Bruce Hellinga of civil and environmental engineering; Otman Basir, Ehab El-Saadany of electrical and computer engineering; and David Clausi and Paul Fieguth of systems design engineering. Promoted to the level of associate professor will be William Epling of chemical engineering; Dayan Ban, Hamed Majedi and Ladan Tahvildari of electrical and computer engineering; and Cecile Devaud, William Melek and Carolyn Ren of mechanical and mechatronics engineering.

Students win sustainable management contest

Wednesday, April 7th, 2010

Abdelbaset Ali and Mohamed Shawki of civil and environmental engineering recently took first place honours in the 2010 AECOM/CSCE’s sustainable management research paper competition. The students have been invited to present their winning paper at the CSCE’s annual conference which takes place in June in Winnipeg.

Team takes top award in environmental contest

Wednesday, April 7th, 2010

The Waterloo Integrated Design Engineering team won first place for its project in the recent Environmental Design Contest at New Mexico State University. Fourth-year students Saleh Elnabolsy of civil engineering, Alex Chik, Emily Vance, Jane Ho of environmental engineering, and William Rea, Matthew Chan, and Jack Ng of systems design engineering designed a portable system that samples and concentrates microorganisms from agricultural waters. [web site]

CBET renamed for business leader

Tuesday, April 6th, 2010

The University of Waterloo has honoured philanthropist Manfred Conrad and his family by naming the university’s business, entrepreneurship and technology centre the Conrad Centre for Business, Entrepreneurship and Technology. CBET recently received $3 million from Conrad, the founder of The Cora Group and developer of three buildings in Waterloo’s Research and Technology Park, including the Accelerator Centre where CBET is located. That donation, along with a past $2-million gift to CBET from the Conrads, will help the centre expand its activities in Canada and around the world. [news release]

Terrier a top Waterloo athlete for second year

Tuesday, April 6th, 2010

Ontario university golf champion Tiffany Terrier has been honoured with the Marsden Trophy as the University of Waterloo’s top woman athlete for a second straight year — a first in the history of Waterloo . The fourth-year mechanical engineering student shot a five over 77 on both days at the Ontario university championship held at Angus Glen in Toronto. Terrier will travel to Spain to represent the university and Canada at the FISU World University Golf Championships in June.

NSERC grants received by ECE faculty members

Monday, April 5th, 2010

Waterloo Engineering electrical and computer engineering professors have received grants for four projects from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada. Guang Gong and Mark Aagaard will develop new mechanisms for privacy protection, authentication and secure communication for low-cost Radio Frequency Identification systems. Raafat Mansour will work with organizations in Canada and France to improve technology in the satellite communication industry through MEMS technology. Sagar Naik will lead a team to develop solutions for problems in gathering data from a variety of sensors used in homes such as safety-critical data. And Weihua Zhuang will investigate strategies to improve the reliability, efficiency, and security of information delivery in wireless communications for vehicles on the road.